Exploring the surroundings

Charlottenburg is located in the Bergsau, part of the Lippa Hills (dealurile Lipovei), at an altitude of 165 m, between Timișoara/Temeswar (44 km) and Lipova/Lippa (32 km). The Bergsau brook is a tributary of the Old Bega and rises in the forests in the vicinity of Comeat/Lichtenwald and Sintar/Buchberg. Geologically, the hills consist of marl, clay, rubble and sand [Rusu].
The neighbouring municipalities are Remetea Mică, Buzad, Altringen, Alioș and Mașloc. Administratively, it belongs to the municipality of Bogda in the district of Timiș.

After the completion of the Timișoara-Radna railway line in 1897, the village had been easily accessible by rail via the Şarlota railway station.

Șarlota railway station
The Şarlota railway station

Horse-drawn carts were often taken to the neighbouring villages, forests or to the pilgrimage to Radna. With the introduction of bus transport in the 1970s, more distant places became more accessible. The railway line was closed in 2020.

A two km walk connects the village with the modest station. The country road from Mașloc to Charlottenburg (DJ691A) is reached in about 500 m and turns left. To the right of the road there are hay meadows that extend to the village gardens, known as Farm Meadows and Teacher Meadows in this region. The Bergsau, lined with bushes and willows, flows some hundred metres away.

Charlottenburg NW
Map generated with OpenStreetMap-Data | Open Database License (ODbL)

After 250 m, there is the first turn-off on the left into the Little Meadows. Next to the hay meadows there was a meadow orchard with plum and damson trees. Schnapps was distilled from the fruit, jam and cakes were baked. In the valley there was a spring with excellent drinking water. Further back on the right is the cutting called by the villagers Römerschanz i.e. Roman Redoubt. These are the remains of a defensive rampart, already mentioned by Griselini [Griselini, part 1, page 295]. Current research attributes the construction to the Romans [Gropșian, Forai], identifying it as the relic of a Roman limes. The valley is bordered by the Alioș Forest, called Acacia Forest by the locals. These are robinia trees (Robinia pseudoacacia) which are called acacias in the Banat. The Roman Redoubt stretches for almost 7 km in the Alioș Forest [Gropșian, Forai].

Back on the country road, the church tower of the village can be seen in the distance on the right, above the trees. On the other side of the road, the terrain rises slightly. These are the fields where the farmers cultivated wheat, oats, barley, corn, sugar beets, sunflowers or tobacco. Next to the road, the fields are called Quelle/Source I and Kurzer Acker / Short Field, adjacent to the north, Quelle/Source II and Langer Acker / Long Field. The road makes a right-angled bend towards the village. Straight ahead was the now demolished mill. The path leads into the Mokosch valley. On the left is the Mühlenacker / Mill field, on the right the Hutwart a supervised village cattle pasture. The trail extends to the Alioș Forest, passing by a alpine dairy hut through an area where there were vineyards destroyed by phylloxera.

The country road is now lined with old mulberry trees. These trees, as well as those in the village, were already planted at the time of settlement. Until the 1960s their leaves were used for breeding silk spiders or mulberry spiders (Bombyx mori). On the left you can see the building of the former distillery, then you reach the first "home gardens". On the right side of the path there are some old oaks which, like many other oak trees around the village, provide a habitat for the stag beetle (Lucanus cervus).

The road forks in the village. To the north, in the direction of Altringen, one continues to follow the Bergsau valley. Past the village circle, there lies the cemetery on a hill, directly opposite to the church. To the left of the burial ground, across the Hutwart and into the Mokosch valley you arrive at the clay pit, which was providing raw material for many of the houses in the village.
A right turn leads to the so-called "Vorstadt/Suburb". Following on the left is the Hodaja, a former farmstead which was used by the LPG (agricultural production cooperative) after 1946.

Charlottenburg
In the direction of Altringen, on the right the Altenberg

On the other side, in southern direction, is Altenberg / Olds hill and in the valley in front of it, flows the Bergsau. In a break edge of the Altenberg is the Räuberhöhle / robbers' den. A currently only about 10 m long tunnel was hewn into the sandstone. The old people told that inside there was an iron door, and the notorious band of robbers of Rózsa Sándor (1813-1878) had a hideout here. In the hay meadows, in a marshy place called Rohrlack, there are growing reeds, once having been used to cover the to cover the settlers houses.
After the Hodaja, are fields, Kirchenfeld / Church field and Überland/Overland up to the Altringer district.

From the village to the southeast, in the direction of Buzad, one descends into the valley of the Bergsau brook. Leaving the house gardens behind, the Bergsau meadows appear on the left side, a bridge over the Bergsau follows. To the right is the Lunkawald / Lunka wood and a little further to the left the Lindenberg / Lime hill which connects to the Altenberg.

Charlottenburg NW
Map generated with OpenStreetMap-Data | Open Database License (ODbL)

This is pasture land. On the Lindenberg is the Lindenwald / Lime forrest and on the border with the Altenberg where the new vineyards and fruit trees grow: apple- cherry, plum, walnut trees. After the pasture there is a small forest, the Tendelwald / Tendel forest. It consists mainly of cornelian cherries (Cornus mas). A forest road separates the Lunkawald from the fenced hunting park. After the Tendelwald, a small meadow called Baricioara opens on the left, followed by the former communal forest.

Charlottenburg
Towards the hunting park

Up to Buzad, about 4 km away, then follows always left forest and right the hunting park with pasture and hay meadows for the game, further back forestation. The forest areas consist of Turkey oak, Hungarian oak, winter oak, hornbeam, limes, field maple, and black locust. There are also ash trees, summer oaks, pointed oaks, copper beeches, chestnuts, cornelian cherries, and willows in damp places.
The bird life in the village includes house sparrows, barn swallows and house martins, turtle and collared doves, owls and one or two stork nests. In the woods and meadows live gray woodpecker, great tit, blue tit, goldfinch, blackbird, jay, magpie, tawny owl, oriole, magpie, cuckoo, crow, pheasant...
Of the medicinal herbs were chamomile, hawthorn, yarrow, horsetail, St. John's wort, thyme, common centaury, celandine, elder and lime blossoms collected and used. In the surrounding area there grows the purple hellebore (Helleborus purpurascens) [Rusu] from which the natural remedy Boicil is produced.

The hunting park was and is an European hunting ground. For its history see: European Hunting Domain.

Die Erkundung der Umgebung

Charlottenburg liegt in der Bergsau, Teil der Lippaer Hügel (dealurile Lipovei), in einer Höhe von 165 m, zwischen Timișoara/Temeswar (44 km) und Lipova/Lippa (32 km). Der namensgebende Bergsaubach mündet in die Alte Bega und entspringt in den Wäldern um Comeat/Lichtenwald und Sintar/Buchberg. Geologisch betrachtet bestehen die Hügel aus Mergel, Tonerde, Geröll und Sand [Rusu].
Die Nachbargemeinden sind Remetea Mică / Königshof, Buzad, Altringen, Alioș/Aljosch und Mașloc/Blumenthal. Verwaltungsmäßig gehört es zur Gemeinde Bogda/Neuhof im Kreis Timiș/Temesch.

Seit der Fertigstellung der Bahnstrecke Timișoara-Radna im Jahr 1897 war das Dorf über die Bahnstation Şarlota für lange Zeit leicht mit der Eisenbahn erreichbar.

Bahnstation Șarlota
Die Bahnstation Şarlota

Zu den benachbarten Ortschaften, zur Wallfahrt nach Radna und in die Wälder wurde oft der Pferdewagen genommen. Mit der Einführung des Busverkehrs in den 70er Jahren wurden auch die weiter entfernten Orte leichter zugänglich.
Die Bahnstrecke wurde 2020 stillgelegt.

Das bescheidene Bahnhofgebäude hinter sich lassend, hat man 2 km Gehweg bis zum Dorf vor sich. Vorbei an der Bahnhofsflur wird die Landstraße von Mașloc/Blumenthal nach Charlottenburg (DJ691A) in circa 500 m erreicht und biegt links ab. Rechts von der Straße sind Heuwiesen, die bis zu den Dorfgärten reichen, als Bauernwiesen und Lehrerwiesen im Dorf bekannt. Einige hundert Meter entfernt fließt der Bergsaubach, gesäumt von Büschen und Weiden.

Charlottenburg NW
Karte hergestellt aus OpenStreetMap-Daten | Lizenz: Open Database License (ODbL)

Nach 250 m folgt die erste Abzweigung auf der linken Seite in die Kleinen Wiesen. Neben den Heuwiesen gab es eine Streuobstwiese mit Pflaumen- und Zwetschgenbäumen. Aus dem Obst wurde Schnaps gebrannt, Marmelade eingekocht und Kuchen gebacken. Im Tal gab es eine Quelle mit ausgezeichnetem Trinkwasser. Weiter hinten rechts liegt der von den Dorfbewohnern Römerschanz genannte Einschnitt. Es ist der Rest eines Verteidigungswalls, der schon von Griselini [Griselini, Teil 1, Seite 295] erwähnt wurde. Die aktuellen Forschungen schreiben den Bau den Römern zu [Gropșian, Forai], es ist das Relikt eines römischen Limes. An das Tal grenzt der Aljoscher Forst, von den Einheimischen Akazien Wald genannt. Es sind Robinien Bäume (Robinia pseudoacacia) die im Banat Akazien bezeichnet werden. Die Römerschanz setzt sich im Aljoscher Forst fast 7 km lang fort [Gropșian, Forai].

Zurück auf der Landstraße zeichnet sich rechter Hand in der Ferne, über den Bäumen, der Kirchturm des Dorfes ab. Auf der anderen Seite der Straße steigt das Gelände leicht an. Hier sind die Felder, auf denen die Bauern Weizen, Hafer, Gerste, Mais, Zuckerrüben, Sonnenblumen oder Tabak anbauten. Neben der Straße werden die Felder Quelle I und Kurzer Acker genannt, angrenzend nach Norden Quelle II und Langer Acker. Der Weg macht einen rechtwinkligen Rechtsknick in Richtung Dorf. Geradeaus lag die inzwischen abgetragene Mühle. Der Weg führt in das Mokosch Tal. Links liegt der Mühlenacker, rechts rechts die Hutwart (Beaufsichtigte Dorf Viehweide, von Hutweide). Der Weg reicht bis zum Aljoscher Forst, vorbei an einer Sennhütte durch ein Gebiet, in dem es von der Reblaus zerstörte Weingärten gab.

Die Landstraße ist jetzt von alten Maulbeerbäumen gesäumt. Diese Bäume sowie die im Dorf wurden schon bei der Ansiedlung gepflanzt, bis in die 1960er Jahre dienten ihre Blätter der Zucht von Seidenspinnern oder Maulbeerspinnern (Bombyx mori). Links ist das Gebäude der ehemaligen Schnapsbrennerei zu sehen dann erreicht man die ersten Hausgärten. Am rechten Wegrand stehen einige alte Eichen die, wie viele andere Eichenbäume um das Dorf dem Hirschkäfer (Lucanus cervus) Lebensraum bieten.

In der Ortschaft gabelt sich der Weg. Nach Norden in Richtung Altringen folgt man weiter dem Bergsautal. Den Dorf-Kreis verlassend, liegt auf einer Anhöhe der Friedhof, direkt gegenüber der Kirche. Links vom Begräbnisplatz kommt man hinunter zur Hutwart und in das Mokosch Tal. Hier ist die Lehmgrube, aus der viele der Häuser des Dorfes gebaut wurden.
Eine Rechtskurve führt in die sogenannte „Vorstadt“. Nachfolgend ist auf der linken Seite die Hodaja, ein ehemaliger Maierhof der nach 1946 von der LPG benutzt wurde zu sehen.

Charlottenburg
In Richtung Altringen, rechts der Altenberg

Auf der anderen Seite, in südlicher Richtung, ist der Altenberg und im Tal davor, fließt der Bergsaubach. In einer Bruchkante des Altenbergs ist die Räuberhöhle. Ein zur Zeit nur noch etwa 10 m langer Stollen wurde den Sandstein gehauen. Die Alten erzählten, dass im Inneren eine Eisentür war, und die berühmt berüchtigte Räuberbande von Rózsa Sándor (1813-1878) hier einen Unterschlupf hatte. In den Heuwiesen, an einer sumpfigen Stelle, in der Rohrlack, wächst Schilfrohr, das zum Decken der Siedlerhäuser verwendet wurde.
Nach der Hodaja, sind Äcker, Kirchenfeld und Überland genannt bis zur Altringer Gemarkung.

Vom Dorf nach Südosten, in Richtung Buzad kommt man hinunter in das Bergsautal. Die Hausgärten hinter sich lassend, zeigen sich auf der linken Seite die Bergsauwiesen, es folgt eine Brücke über die Bergsau. Rechts ist der Lunkawald und etwas weiter links der Lindenberg der an den Altenberg anschließt.

Charlottenburg NW
Karte hergestellt aus OpenStreetMap-Daten | Lizenz: Open Database License (ODbL)

Das ist Weideland. Auf dem Lindenberg steht der Lindenwald und an der Grenze zum Altenberg waren die neuen Weingärten und Obstbäume: Apfel- Kirsch-, Pflaumen-, Walnussbäume. Nach der Weide steht ein kleiner Wald, der Tendelwald. Er besteht mehrheitlich aus Kornelkirschen (Cornus mas). Ein Forstweg trennt den Lunkawald vom eingezäunten Jagdpark. Nach dem Tendelwald öffnet sich links eine kleine Wiese Baricioara genannt, gefolgt vom ehemaligen Gemeindewald. Gegenüber der Wiese steht das erste Tor zum Park.

Charlottenburg
In Richtung Jagdpark

Bis zum ca. 4 km entfernten Buzad folgt dann immer links Wald und rechts der Jagdpark mit Weide- und Heuwiesen für das Wild, weiter hinten Waldung.

Die Waldgebiete bestehen aus Zerreichen, Ungarischen Eichen, Traubeneneichen/Wintereichen, Weißbuchen/Hainbuchen, Linden, Feldahorne, und Robinien. Es gibt auch Eschen, Sommereichen, Spitzachorne, Rotbuchen, Kastanien, Kornelkirschen und an feuchten Stellen Weiden.
Die Vogelwelt umfasst im Dorf Haussperlinge, Rauch- und Mehlschwalben, Turtel- und Türkentauben, Eulen und ein bis zwei Storchnester. In den Wäldern und Wiesen leben Grauspecht, Kohl- und Blaumeise, Stieglitz, Amsel, Eichelhäher, Elster, Waldkauz, Pirol, Elster, Kuckuck, Krähe, Fasan...
Von den Heilkräutern wurden Kamille, Weißdorn, Schafgarbe, Zinnkraut, Johanniskraut, Thymian, Tausendguldenkraut/Tausendgüldenkraut, Schöllkraut, Holunder- und Lindenblüten gesammelt und verwendet. In den Umgebung ist die Purpur-Nieswurz / Purpur Lenzrose (Helleborus purpurascens) [Rusu] aus der das Naturheilmittel Boicil hergestellt wird heimisch.

Der Jagdpark war und ist ein europäisches Jagdrevier. Zu seiner Geschichte geht es hier weiter: Europäisches Jagdrevier.